Three Self-Care Swaps you Should Try

Sundays are my self-care days. If I don’t have at least an afternoon devoted to grooming or health, it throws off my entire week. I use the morning and afternoon to wash my hair, give some special attention to my skin, and maybe even do a manicure. It’s so easy (and unhealthy) to work until you crash, but I’ve learned that that’s not the way to achieve physical or mental wellness. Balance of both is necessary to live a healthy life.

Over the last few years, I’ve made an effort to use more natural and cost-effective products in my skin care and wellness regimens. Check out my top three recommendations!

Washcloth < Face Massaging Brush

IMG_0055 (1).jpg

I’ve been using this Beyond Belief Deep Cleansing Silicone brush since January and it’s one of my favorite skin care buys to date.  It’s pretty much a vibrating gadget that deep cleans the face and neck when used with your favorite face wash. After rinsing my face,  I can really feel my moisturizers and oils penetrating my skin.  Another pro: it’s silicone, so it’s easy to clean and you won’t have to worry about replacing brush heads every few weeks. This gets a thumbs-up for  for travel because it’s small and dries quickly.

Oddly, this product didn’t come with a lot of info or instructions. The cleansing brush has six speeds and the charge lasts at least six weeks (probably much longer). Extra points for being rechargeable. No fussing with batteries and as a result, less waste!

It retails for $29.99 at Sally Beauty and seems like it’ll work as long as you care for it.  Totally worth it!

Air Freshener  < Diffuser + Essential Oils

When I want to freshen my home without strong sprays or candles, I pull out my diffuser. I’ve been using this Young Living diffuser for two years and it does a fabulous job of deodorizing and leaving my home smelling fresh.

img_0063-1

Online testimonies show tons of other benefits of diffusers and essential oils, such relaxation, calmness, and peaceful sleep. I can’t vouch for any of that, but since I started using essential oils, the lavender+peppermint+lemon blend actually gives me short-term allergy relief. I even have this combination mixed with olive oil in a roller and swipe a little  under my nose before I leave the house on high-pollen days. Nothing will open your sinuses quite like peppermint oil!

I entered the world of essential oils through Young Living, but find that other brands work well for diffusing or skin care needs. You can find more accessible and affordable at Vitamin Shoppe, health food stores, and TJMaxx.

Body Wash < Castile Soap

IMG_0058.jpg

You guys. Castile soap is life. It’s one of those products that has a use for just about anything. It’s gentle enough to use as a body wash, face wash and shampoo, but also works great as veggie wash, dish soap, and cleaning solution.  If you’re in the market for organic and cruelty free products, try this! It’s very concentrated, so a little bit goes a long way. I’m loving Dr. Bronner’s castile soap which is available at most drugstores and health food stores.

I think I’ll turn this into a series as I find more products that make the cut. What are some natural or reusable self-care products that you love?

8 thoughts on “Three Self-Care Swaps you Should Try

  1. rebekahhutchins says:

    Oh, I really need to check out that diffuser! I’ve been thinking of getting one for awhile since I have a few oils, just need to bite the bullet! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elle says:

    I ABSOLUTELY love Skinfood by Aubrey Charcoal Face Wash. it has vastly improved my skin from redness and and acne to the overalll brightness of my skin. It’s all natural, organic and cruelty free. If you want more info, I have a blog post about it! I highly recommend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

