What I’m Destashing + Planner Favorites

Buy all the things, they said. It’ll be fun, they said.

It’s happened many times. I go into a craft store ready to buy an item I know I need.  I wait a few days to try it out, only to find that it wasn’t what I was expecting (and that my receipt is in the trash).  Or I buy an item online, don’t like it, but also don’t want the hassle of shipping it back and waiting on a refund.  The planner process is certainly one of trial and error!

Destash List

Recollections Brush Markers

dsc_1805

Brush markers are for brush lettering, right? I was ecstatic to get a pack of these and try my hand at brush lettering. Turns out that they were your average felt-tip markers one might use for a coloring book or doodling. Not a poor quality product, but also not what I thought was being advertised.

Pen Gems 2.0

When I first saw Pen Gems in a Happy Planner Facebook group, I was enamored. Everyone was getting them and I had to get Pen Gems to be an official planner girl, right? They were shiny and sparkly and that’s really all it took to convince me I needed them. After seeing they were $10 a pop, I went to Amazon to find something comparable.

pensFound on Amazon as “Stylus Pen, CCIVV Crystal Colorful Stylus Pen for Touch Screens, iPad, iPhone, Kindle fire (Pack of 12)”.

Found ’em. The only difference was the stylus instead of the gem.

They were gorgeous pens, but did I really need 12 of them? All with black ink?  Probably not. I’ll keep two or three and find the rest of them a good home.

Carpe Diem A5 Weekly Inserts

Vertical. Horizontal. All on one page. My eyes!

carpdiem

What’s funny is that I got these brand new from a destash at a meetup. Who ever gets a brand new set of Carpe Diem inserts for FREE? I tried so hard to like them.

layout

The layout just didn’t “flow” for me and the boxes were a bit small. Organizing my tasks and decorating just felt odd and more complicated than necessary. I tried them for a week and went back to my more straightforward horizontal Carpe Diem inserts.

 Planner Favorites

Hobby Lobby Craft Knife

 

For those times when I really just want a perfectly straight cut on my washi tape. I’m aware that I can simply use the edge of a credit card but I want to be special, ok? It also works well to gently lift stickers or washi from paper .

 

Skinny Washi

washiThe solid washi is from Michael’s (Recollections) and the patterned washi is from Hobby Lobby ( The Paper Studio).

This stuff comes in handy for making borders or boxes on your planner pages. Highly functional and doesn’t take up very much white space!

Pigma Micron Pens

pigma

I’ve raved about these on my Instagram. Where have these been all my life? The Micron pens are a newer purchase. I’ve only been using them for a couple of weeks so maybe we’re still in the honeymoon stage, but they really are amazing. These apply to paper evenly, whether I’m writing in print or cursive.

What are some planner hits and misses?  Let me know!

 

-Shirley ❤

 

 

9 thoughts on “What I’m Destashing + Planner Favorites

  1. Chandra Lynn says:

    I probably need to destash some stuff too! My planner hit is the Staedtler Triplus Fineliner 3.0. Love these, especially all the colors. I love the Pentel EnerGel needletip for faith journaling. It also comes in a lot of colors. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gracefulpages says:

      I’ve heard great things about Staedtler pens too! Will definitely have to try those out in the future. Thank you for reading, friend! 🙂

      Like

    • gracefulpages says:

      Haha I hear you! Sometimes things look so nice and shiny in the store and then you wonder what to do with them when you get home. Maybe spend an evening on YouTube to get some ideas! I almost gave away my stamps until I realized I could use them in my journal.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie says:

    Great post! I recently tried Zebra Mildliners from Amazon and really like them. They’re basically highlighters with more colour variety and more muted tones. They each have a wedged tip and a finer tip. Really pretty and useful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

